The 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup

As we know that today people are really crazy about cricket, especially in India. It is great news for cricket fans that the 10th ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 has started from 19th February 2011 and the 3 South Asian Countries are hosting the 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup.

The tournament will be played from 19th of Feb to 2nd
of April, 2011.

List of Qualified Teams

Fourteen nations have qualified for the 2011 ICC World Cup, which are listed
herein, in no particular order –

1.      Australia.

2.      Bangladesh

3.      Canada

4.      England

5.      India

6.      Ireland

7.      Kenya

8.      Netherland

9.      New Zealand

10.  Pakistan

11.  South Africa

12.  Sri Lanka

13.  West Indies

14.  Zimbabwe

Format of Competition

There are 14 teams competing in 2011 ICC World Cup. These 14 teams are divided
into two groups; each group comprising of 7 teams.

Each team should play 6 matches and to qualify for Quarter finals and a team
has to win 4 matches. Every team will play a total of six-matches.

Opening Ceremony

The opening Ceremony will be done in Bangladesh on 17th February,
2011. The Dhaka stadium will be the venue for opening ceremony.

The great news for Indians is that Sachin Tendulkar will be the Ambassador
for 2011 International cricket council World Cup. The 1st match will
be played between Bangladesh
and India on 19th
of Feb in Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka. 


Totally 18 Umpires are selected for 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup. In these 18
members five umpires are from Australia,
three from England, one from
West Indies and South Africa,
six from Asia and two from New

Media Coverage

ICC has sold the Broadcasting rights of World Cup 2011 to Star Cricket and
ESPN Star Sports. It was sold for
around two-billion US$ . This tournament will be broadcasted in 220 Countries.


The winners will be awarded with a trophy and prize money of 3 million US$ .
For runners it is around 1.5 million US$ . The trophy was modeled by
Garrard & Co in the year 1999.